You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The region of Navarre is located in the northeast of Spain between the Pyrenees and the Ebro Valley. It covers more than 10,000 square kilometres and is characterised on the one hand by a great cultural wealth and on the other hand by strong climatic diversity. The unique situation in the Iberian Peninsula, where Atlantic, continental and Mediterranean climates meet, produces a wide variety of ecosystems and vegetation conditions: slopes, riparian landscapes, plateaus and plains combine to form a diverse landscape. The soft, deep and fertile soils are predominantly limestone.

(Source: Information Office of the D.O. Navarra)

The wine-growing region extends over almost 12,000 hectares south of the regional capital Pamplona. With the exception of eight municipalities (see section "Quality system in Navarra"), it bears the protected designation of origin Denominación de Origen Protegida (DOP), which emerged in the course of the EU wine market reform from the Denominación de Origen (DO), which was the only designation valid until 2009. The DOP Navarra is divided into five different growing areas: Baja Montaña, Valdizarbe, Tierra Estella, Ribera Alta and Ribera Baja.