What is vegan wine?
Wine that has been produced without using products of animal origin is called vegan.
Animal products can, for example, be used in the process of fining to remove cloudy substances from the wine. Such clouding substances are residues of wine making and can be bound by proteins. These proteins are usually obtained from chicken eggs (egg white), milk(casein), animal bones, cartilage and skins(gelatine) or the swim bladders of fish(house bladder).
The proteins are exclusively auxiliary substances in wine production and are filtered out of the wine after fining together with the bound trub substances.